2016 Green Transformation Update

My ” 2016 Green transformation” is moving right along!

😊 Here are a few updates.

Grow a garden

  • I am sad to say that “My Little Garden that Could”, was overtaken by a Fungus : (  Since I don’t give up very easily, I did some research and I am going to try a box garden starting in mid-August. Stay tuned! This will also be my first Blog Project so bare with me folks, the tech side of things could get ugly! lol

Start juicing

  • Juicing has become a major part of my daily routine. Not only have I felt the health benefits, but I can see them as well! My skin, hair and nails are looking better than ever, on top of that I have more energy and feel amazing!
  • The greatest health benefit our house has witnessed came after my Man 1/2 Photo Jul 27, 8 31 56 PMstarted drinking beetroot juice a few weeks ago. His blood pressure has dropped  10 points in a matter of weeks!! So proud of him!!

 

Beetroot juice is known for increasing stamina and improving blood flow. Since beets are rich in nitrates, our bodies naturally change the nitrates into nitric oxide, which then increases blood flow and lowers blood pressure.

 

No more GMO’s

  • This one has been very frustrating.  After reading up on the Non-GMO Project I learned that almost 80% of the food consumed in North America contain GMO’s. Horrified? Me to. On a positive note, I discovered that more and more manufacturers are not allowing the use of GMO’s in their food manufacturing process. In the mean time….here is how to ready those pesky little stickers found on grocery store fruits and vegetables.
  • Tuxpi photo editor: https://www.tuxpi.com
    1. Read the little number stickers found on fruits and vegetables (actually called a PLU Code)
      • Stickers with numbers that begin with a 3 or 4 are most likely grown by Conventional means.
      • Stickers with numbers that begin with an 8 are GMO’s.
      • Stickers with numbers that begin with a 9 are Organic : )

Only Organic Meat

  • I am fortunate to have a local farm that raises organic meat for the little bit of carnivore in me! They also have amazing organic eggs. In other words “Heaven”!! Besides, grabbing your own eggs in the chicken coop is a bonus with the kiddo’s!

Chicken Coop

To find a local farm near you try http://www.localharvest.org/ to search what farms are in your area.

Bye, bye bottled water

  • July was Plastic Free month which compelled me to purchase more of my favorite water bottles by S’well.Photo Shape Editor: https://www.tuxpi.com/photo-effects/shape-tool  These bottles are beautiful and fun! Made from non-leaching and non-toxic 18/8 stainless steel, which will keep your drink cold for 24 hours and hot for 12.  Go to www.swellbottle.com and check them out.

 

 

Only use natural/organic personal hygiene products

  • I have tried a few natural hygiene products and so far, my favorite collection of products is the brand “Yes to” brand.  I am currently using the “Yes to” Cucumbers face lotion, before bed and each morning. Check them out and see for yourself. 

Remaining goals for 2016

Nix the microwave – this one is going to be tuff. I admit I’m procrastinating.
Replace all water bottles with aluminum – More from http://www.swellbottle.com : )
75% Veggies 25% meat (herbivores here I come!!) This one is a given!
Water filtration system – More research needed until I can commit to one system.
More garden, less grocery store – this is another one that has been frustrating. Crossing my fingers that the box garden works this fall!!!
Composting – since my garden died of fungus, I will rely on compose for my future box garden to provide the nutrients most veggies need to thrive.

Leave a Reply

